Stone Ridge Valley HM, September 2017- Brahmagiri Pradakshina

After the heavy downpour last week, we were looking forward to a wonderful time at Nashik on Sunday.  On Saturday, my family took off along with Smita Lahigude for Stone Ridge Valley.  When we reached in the evening for Bib collection, the weather was awesome and we thought we would have a fantastic run the next day 😊.

_20170926_160418.jpg

Dropping of Smita at the Gajanan Maharaj Sansthan we proceeded to Hotel Three Leaves.  Post check-in we went to the Trimbakeshwar mandir for Darshan.  Later after visiting the Gajanan Maharaj Mandir, we went for dinner along with Sunil and Smita. Enroute it was good to meet other MRR runners 😃.

IMG-20170925-WA0003

Sunday morning, I met Anand Kane and Gang just outside our hotel room.  They were kind enough to offer me a lift to the Venue.  It was nice to meet other Runner Buddies in the Assembly area.  We had fun cheering the FM guys as they took off at 6.  I met Salaj, who arrived directly that morning 😌, and gave him his Bib.

IMG-20170925-WA0015

After a quick warm up it was time to line up at the starting point.  We took off running precisely at 6:30.  I was soon joined by Anand Kane and we ran together comfortably chatting away to glory 😀.  After the first kilometre or so we slowed down a bit, enjoying the luschious green sorroundings.

FB_IMG_1506482274625

Picking up water from the water station we moved ahead together.  At about the 4K mark a Runner actually did a cartwheel for the photographer as we looked on in amazement 😯.  Cartwheel guy was Yash from Nashik.  He ran along chatting with us for a short distance before taking off with the 2-hour Pacer 😎.

IMG-20170924-WA0003

We moved on turning right, crossing the bridge, moving upwards reaching the strategically placed trail at about 7-8k Distance.  We walked up steadily trekking all the way to the top of the hill. Just as we were reaching the top, I teased Anand “Chalo ab Dabba nikalo” 😂.  Bowing down and paying obeisance at the Gautam Rishi- Ahalya Smarak, very sweetly he gave me Rajgira wadi saying “Dabba to nahi, yehi kha lo”, as we turned to descend the steps 🤗.

The toughest part over we carefully ran down the steps.  Picking up and sharing Enerzal we moved together comfortably swapping stories of other runners and runs 😄.  It was a pleasure running on the exclusive path with the dam waters to the left and majestic mountains to the right 😎.  A little ahead, we just had to stop and click a picture with the flowering field in the background reminiscing of our respective trips to Dalhousie.

IMG-20170925-WA0001

Further ahead we were greeted by the sight of some kids drawing pictures on the ground with chalk.  Moving on we shouted out as we crossed Rahul and Gaurav at about the 13th km.

After about the 14th km, Anand slowed down to relieve his ACL injury pain and told me to move  ahead.  Running down the hill I took the last turn and headed onto the highway.  By then the sun was beating down on us strongly with absolutely no shade whatsoever in sight 😑.

FB_IMG_1506256324976

I plodded on looking around at the beautiful green hills.  Soon Anand rejoined me and I told him to enjoy the view as it was just about 3-4 kilometres to Trimbakeshwar from here.  A little way ahead, I crossed over to the other side of the road following the Runner in front of me.   Catching up with him we realised the ones in front of us had crossed to catch some shade of the Rocky patch on the opposite side.

Crossing back to the Right we chatted as we moved on.  As we got talking, I realised Gautam, from Raheja Vihar Powai, was the same guy with whom I had traveled by Cab to Azad maidan for SCMM in January along with Sachin Singh and Anupma Diddi 😀😂. Talk about a small world.  The heat had started getting to him by then.  I encouraged him saying we had just a little more distance to go as we ran along while cheering the fast FM Runners who were running back after their U-turn.

Catching sight of Shibani Gharat ahead, I picked up pace.  Cheering her on, I moved ahead finally catching up with Rajesh Mallya in the final 2-3k.  Waving to Nikhil Shah in the support vehicle I ran strong weaving my way through the numerous buses and tourists.  It was nice to cheer Sunil Lahigude as he ran in the opposite direction.

Now, I was in a mood to just finish off my Run.  Quickly I took the final right turn near the Sai Palace Hotel.  I ran on quickly in a bid to finish strong.  By then I was wondering why the Finish Line wasn’t in sight 🤔.  Just then I met Sanjay Bhingarde who told me I had just another kilometre to go.

Feeling good I ran ahead waving to Jay Mali who asked if he should pace me 😊.  Telling him I was fine I ran on finally crossing the Finish Line amongst loud cheers and applause 🤗.  I managed to finish in 2:07 standing First in the Girls Open Category.  The First Monsoon Marathon Package sure ended with a Bang.  Couldn’t have asked for a more scenic route for sure 😊.

 

About manasisam

An avid Marathoner, Hands on Mom, Freelance Management Consultant- Healthcare and Blogger who believes in living every moment to its fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stone Ridge Valley HM, September 2017- Brahmagiri Pradakshina

  1. Wow… Very well written Manasi!!
    Fealt like I’m also running with you on that scenic route

    Like

  2. krantisalvi says:

    Great write up Manasi! Felt like I ran the it with you!!

    Like

Leave a comment